MSBA Invites 34 Schools into Accelerated Repair Program

23 Districts Will Benefit from Targeted School Repairs

BOSTON - State Treasurer and Receiver General Deborah B. Goldberg, Chair of the Massachusetts School Building Authority ("MSBA"), and John K. McCarthy, MSBA Executive Director/Deputy CEO, announced that the MSBA Board of Directors invited 34 schools into the Authority’s Accelerated Repair Program. The main goals of the Accelerated Repair Program are to improve learning environments for children and teachers, reduce energy use and generate cost savings for districts. The program provides funding for the repair or replacement of roofs, windows and boilers in schools that are otherwise structurally, functionally and educationally sound.

"The Accelerated Repair Program allows us to partner with school districts on much-needed repairs that can greatly extend a school’s lifespan," said Treasurer Goldberg. "Besides making the learning environment more comfortable for our schoolchildren, these repairs also make our schools more energy efficient and generate substantial cost savings. It's a win-win for everyone involved."

"The Accelerated Repair Program directly benefits thousands of children in these communities by sustaining their infrastructure in a cost effective manner," said Executive Director/Deputy CEO McCarthy.

"The MSBA continues to partner with Massachusetts communities in the ongoing work of upgrading their public schools," Executive Director/Deputy CEO McCarthy said. "These improvements to school facilities can only enhance students' ability to excel in the classroom."

Below is a list of projects that received accelerated repair invitations at the Board meeting today:

District School
Blackstone-Millville Regional School District Millville Elementary School
Boston James Otis Elementary School
John D. O’Bryant School of Mathematics and Science
Muriel S. Snowden International School at Copley
Josiah Quincy Elementary School
Rafael Hernández K-8 School
Donald McKay K-8 School
Patrick Lyndon K-8 School
Bourne Bourne High School
Cambridge Graham and Parks School
Danvers Highlands Elementary School
East Longmeadow Meadow Brook Elementary School
Fall River Westall Elementary School
Resiliency Preparatory Academy
Lynn Lynn Vocational Technical Institute
Nashoba Valley Technical School District Nashoba Valley Technical High School
New Bedford John A. Parker Elementary School
Trinity Day Academy
New Salem-Wendell Regional School District Swift River School
Newton F.A. Day Middle School
Bigelow Middle School
Norfolk H. Olive Day School
Norfolk County Agricultural School District Norfolk County Agricultural High School
Quaboag Regional School District West Brookfield Elementary School
Springfield Milton Bradley School
Springfield High School of Science and Technology
Swansea Joseph Case High School
Tantasqua Regional School District Tantasqua Regional Junior High School
Taunton Taunton Alternative High School
Ware Ware Middle School
Stanley M. Koziol Elementary School
West Bridgewater Howard Elementary School
Westborough Elsie A. Hastings Elementary School
Worcester Challenge and Reach Academy

The MSBA partners with Massachusetts communities to support the design and construction of educationally-appropriate, flexible, sustainable and cost-effective public school facilities. Since its 2004 inception, the Authority has made over 1,750 site visits to more than 250 school districts as part of its due diligence process and has made over $13.2 billion in reimbursements for school construction projects.