MCPPO Certification/Recertification Requirements

The Office of the Inspector General ("OIG") administers the Massachusetts Certified Public Purchasing Official Program (MCPPO). The program teaches participants about procurement, contracting, and ethics laws. The training programs are designed to develop the capacity of public purchasing officials to operate effectively and promote excellence in public procurement. For MSBA funded projects, the participants that are required to achieve MCPPO designation or certification include:

  • School District Personnel (the Eligible Applicant or his/her designee)
  • The Owner’s Project Manager
  • The Designer

School District Personnel

Pursuant to the MSBA's regulations, specifically 963 CMR 2.03(2)(o), the Eligible Applicant or his/her designee who will be in charge of procurement for the project is required to receive an MCPPO Designation by the OIG.

In order to maintain his/her MCPPO designation, an individual who has attained an MCPPO designation will be required to earn continuing education credits, attend seminars administered by the OIG, and apply for MCPPO Designation Renewal during the three year period following his/her designation date and every three years thereafter.

Owner’s Project Manager and Designers

The Project Director for the Owner’s Project Manager (OPM) and the individual directly in charge of the Project for the Designer are required to obtain MCPPO Certification for School Project Designers and Owner’s Project Managers from the OIG, as set forth in 963 CMR 2.11(12) for the OPM and (963 CMR 2.12(6) for the Designer.

In order to maintain his/her MCPPO certification, OPMs and Designers are required to obtain a Recertification for School Project Designers and Owner's Project Managers from the OIG every three years.


Contact Information

If you have any questions about MCPPO Certification, please click here.